Never Bored Again

I realized today that, as long as I keep running my own business, I will never be bored again. If I’m not dying, carding or spinning fiber, I am photographing it and putting it online. If I’m not directly making things happen in my shop, I’m reading advice about how to make things happen in my shop. I’m putting up tweets, pins, and Facebook updates. I’ve joined groups on Ravelry that support fiber artists who open Etsy shops of any sort. I have not really stopped working in the last couple of days.

On the bright side, I’m proud of a lot of my work. I’ve made batts that look like these:

(the watermelon batt has been the most popular by far!)

I’ve dyed roving that looks like this:

I spun a skein of yarn:

and I’ve made cat toys like these:

 

These are just a sampling of the work I’ve done. I really need to perfect the photography, but I think I do well considering that I don’t have a fancy SLR camera or particular training in photography (but I do have a dear friend who is a photographic artist by profession, and I suspect she can give me pointers if I ask. She’s been AMAZINGLY helpful with setting up the harder parts of my shop).

In addition to the above work, I’ve also been setting up a business center in the basement. I’ll take a picture of what I’ve got, but it’s going to be a place where the drum carder and dying equipment lives, as well as a place for Michael to put the business supplies for his game.

I plan to make a formal inventory in the next few days, and maybe scan the receipts that I don’t already have in a digital format so I can have accurate books.

I’ve still not sold anything, but I have been getting a lot of views for my shop as I have increased my advertising. I have hope that the first sale will be soon – I’m betting it will be the watermelon batt that goes first. Another friend of mine hasn’t had any sales yet either, so she’s due (she makes baby/child things and blankets). Another friend does very well with her shop (she makes great jewelry, mostly for babies), and she’s had some good advice for me. I’m still very ok with the fact that getting my first sale will take time. I may not feel the same way in another month, but I will cross that bridge when I get there. I plan to do paid ads when I get a hundred different listings in my shop. I have twenty now.

The kittens are growing and doing quite well now that their mother has moved on. Duck has been the best nanny I could ask for – he plays with the kittens and keeps them clean, so they aren’t missing the best parts of their mom.

Buckley isn’t all that visible on the first picture, but I think I will be using the shot of Saxon in the second picture for his adoption photo.

I like this litter because they have a very good herd instinct. If I’m in the living room, the kittens go to the living room. If I go to the kitchen, they follow me there. The greatest part is that when we go into their room, they all come in, waiting for their next meal (and they eat a lot – they’re going through two 12oz cans of cat food a day, which is double what the four of my adult cats eat!). I can shut the door and put them down for a nap with no fuss.

So, yes, I will never be bored again. I will be sick and unable to work sometimes, but I will never be without something to do when I feel up for it.

 

One thought on “Never Bored Again

Leave a Reply

