Trying Again

Remember when I started this (the second half of the post)? Yeah, I’m doing that again. Started this morning. I’m hoping to figure out what the new food allergy is that makes me break out in rashes and have random bouts of diarrhea. It’s going to be much the same process as the first time, except I will be able to keep butter and tomatoes in the diet. I am certain these aren’t a problem. All other dairy, grains, and potentially inflammatory meats and nuts are out. On the bright side, I am going to be home the whole time I’m on this diet. It’s a good thing, because eating out while trying to strictly control my diet is really hard. Not impossible, just hard.

In the meantime, I have a lot of knitting to do. I’ve got 3 expected babies to knit for, plus a few projects for friends who want or need something specific. Later this week I’ll put up a list of what I have in progress, plus the list of things I plan to cast on. I am thinking I need to make something to wear on the cruise I plan to take in August. It will be Michael’s and my 10th anniversary this year, so it will be nice to cruise even if I am not much better and not really up to it. I mean, there’s food and a bed on board – what else could I need?

As for the past month, I actually accomplished a few things. The biggest is that I caught up on my newspaper comics. Somehow, it’s nice to only have one day’s worth of comics waiting for me in the morning. I eat breakfast and read the paper, and when I’ve finished, there isn’t a giant stack still waiting for me. It’s just nice to feel caught up.

I also discovered a new treatment that seems to help.  I went to see a chiropractor who uses an acupuncture technique called NAET. When I walked in to her office, I was up front with the doctor. I told her I thought that this was just voodoo and I was only there to say I had tried it. The doctor was very good about the whole thing. She said that it was all right I felt that way, let’s just try it and see if it does anything. She said it works for some and not for others. Given that she was so laid back about the whole thing, I agreed to give her a shot.

Well, the three days after my first treatment were the best I’ve had in about a year and a half. I went back on the fourth day having regressed almost to the point where I was before the treatment, but feeling optimistic that a second treatment might produce the same results. In fact, it did work. I am by no means all cured – far from it. The difference is that I wake up in the morning feeling kind of crappy, I have a glass of tea, then have up to four hours of clear thinking and productivity. I can only do light housework and tasks like reading, but for those few hours, these activities are no longer a complete struggle. It’s improvement, so I’ll take it. As of today we’ve only worked on treating my autonomic nervous system imbalance, so I’ll be interested to see what happens when we actually start trying to clear food allergies.

Unfortunately, I seem to be out of focus for today. I plan on writing more over the course of the next few weeks, especially regarding the cleanse diet. I may need some moral support as it drags on – eating carefully is hard work!

2 thoughts on “Trying Again

Leave a Reply

