Dreaming of a White… Birthday?

Barbara Cloakchecking mail

iciclesFrozen

I have to admit, I’ve never seen snow on my birthday before. I was born in Ohio, and I lived in Maryland and Arkansas. I had the opportunity, but never in my life has it happened. It’s kind of a shock, and I’m not sure what I think.

There has been so much snow that we’ve been unable to leave the house for 2 days. Just today, I drove in the snow for the first time.  It was a little tough to get through, and a little slippery, but I drove slowly and it was ok. I had a private lesson at the yarn shop and someone dropped off a big bag of things she just wanted me to finish for her – at my hourly rate! It was worth leaving the house today.

It was nice to just get out and knit while the kitchen renovation was going on. They made some real progress before I left. Check this out:

cabinets changed

And by the time I got home, it looked like this:

kitchen mostly done

Pretty marked improvement, no? I should point out that the contractors on this job came out to our house on the 2 days we were snowed in. I told them not to risk their lives driving in that weather just to work on our kitchen, but they were here (a little late on one day, but they made it), and they worked. Best contractors ever. They have a few hours of work left to do, so they are coming back tomorrow. Seriously dedicated people, these guys.

On Monday our countertops will be installed, and on Tuesday our gas cooktop and the sink will be hooked up. At that point we will have a fully functioning kitchen again!

Another good thing about these contractors is that they are good with the cats. One of them has 4 cats of his own, so he gets it. He also has 2 dogs he rescued. The guys were very happy when Wesley wanted to lie in the middle of the work zone because they got to pet him. The guys thought Duck was cute when he explored the demoed kitchen. The lead contractor even got Serra to let him pet her. I let the little kittens roam the living room/office area right outside of their room, and the contractors actually enjoyed watching them. It turns out, one of the guys knows how to knit as well. Is it too good to be true?

I realized recently that I will have the chance here on my blog to chronicle a foster kitten growing up. This excites me more than I expected. The best part is that here, I have an audience who is completely willing to look at all the adorable pictures that I take of my newly acquired feline son.

Duck steals a sip Duck has a habit of taking a drink out of my glass. He seems to really like my tea.

He’s also good with the other, littler foster kittens. These are some buddy shots of Duck with Edward:

Duck and EdwardDuck and Edward2 Is this not the cutest?

And we can’t forget Lambie, Duck’s poor sister who is stuck here. She had a spay appointment for the day that the huge snowfall started. We couldn’t get out, so she couldn’t make her appointment. I have to reschedule when the shelter gets back in working order. In the meantime, Lamb is pretty sure that she’s part of the family. She sleeps with me, and she loves the toys I make for her. Ok, I don’t exactly make them for her, but Lamb loves to steal my swatches from my knitting projects. I’m sending them with her to the shelter so she will have them in her new home.

Lambie and her swatch Lamb carries these swatches with her everywhere, and she growls when other cats get too close while she is playing with them. Maybe I should be spending my remaining time with Lamb making her toys so that she will have them long past her adoption. I really will miss her. Doesn’t anyone I know want a sweet, beautiful black kitten? She gives kisses…

4 thoughts on “Dreaming of a White… Birthday?

  1. Happy belated birthday, Barbara!! The kitchen’s looking great, and the kittens are adorable as always 🙂

    I hope you guys had wonderful birthdays and are staying warm!

Leave a Reply

