Delinquent

This may be the longest I have gone between posts since I began this blog. I feel guilty. It’s a good thing I took over 100 pictures this week, because it reminded me of everything I did (it was a lot!).

Over the weekend, Michael, Linnea and I went to the Dickens Faire. I haven’t photographed it yet, but I got a cloak. It is a gorgeous shade of green, and made of a very warm wool. I’ve worn it while running my errands, and so many people have stopped to compliment me on the cloak. I’ve wanted one for years, so I am quite happy! The Faire was lovely, too, but a subject for a later post.

In the beginning of the week, I was knitting and crocheting furiously. I got almost all of the dishcloths completed. I gave 2 of Michael’s sisters pre-Christmas gifts, so I felt less guilty about giving them a 2 dishcloth set instead of a set of 3. It was actually a spilled glass of soda on my white yarn that halted the last 2 cloths, not lack of time.

I finished spinning a skein of soysilk yarn for Carisa. I failed to get a photo of the finished product, however. The kittens supervised my work, and interjected their help when they thought I might need it.

sprout-spinskittens-spinsoysilk-singles

As a side note, there is a very good reason to wash yarn that was hand dyed before knitting with it or before mixing it with other laundry. Get a load of how much loose dye came off when I was setting the twisted yarn.

loose-dye

wrapped-presentsMichael wrapped a ton of Christmas presents. And no, they did not get sent on time. It was going to cost me $80 to send a box of handmade dishcloths in time for Christmas. The recipients can wait. There will be plenty of dishes to do when the cloths arrive.

I hosted Christmas with Carisa and Ryan at my house on Christmas Eve. I made a turkey, made-from-scratch stuffing, 2 pumpkin pies, 1 cherry pie with homemade crust and filling, deviled eggs, and gravy. The only thing I didn’t make was the canned cranberry sauce.

special-presentI got a very nice present from Carisa this year. She gave me a kitty wall hanging that she stitched when she was a small child. I feel special to have gotten something from her childhood. All I got them was a Wii – no sentiment whatsoever. I am hoping that the Wii will be something Carisa and I can use to communicate when I am in Colorado. You see, there is this game called Animal Crossing that we both love to play. When it came to the Nintendo DS, we visited each other’s towns via a Wi-Fi connection. The new Animal Crossing has Wii speak, or in other words, a free phone line!

This week I also took on a pet-sitting job. When the holidays roll around, Carisa gets more business than she can handle. When her schedule fills up, she refers her clients (both established and new clients) to me. I am not a professional sitter, but I don’t mind taking odd jobs like that. Besides, the cat that I took care of was a sweetheart!

kissing-ernestIn addition to all the aforementioned events, I started weaning the bottle-feeders this week. Ernest and Emo went right for the wet food. Every day they eat more food and less milk. Widget prefers the bottle, but he will eat wet food if I mix it with enough milk. Otherwise, he spits the food back out after I spoon it in. Esme got sick and threw up yesterday and the day before, so I am giving her a break on the weaning. She hasn’t lost much weight and her hydration is good, so I am not as worried as I might otherwise be.

At some point during the week I realized we may have to start roaming around naked if I didn’t do some laundry. Carrot was happy to help.

carrot-laundryAs usual, I got a little sick this week. On the bright side, for the first time in many years, whatever I’ve been sick with has not been respiratory and nothing has settled in my lungs! This is a HUGE deal. I’ve been to the ER with a severe respiratory illness every winter since I moved to San Francisco. I am so grateful that it has only been fever and lethargy. I am also thankful for my bed-mates – they know how to make a mommy feel better!sick-mates

The bottle-babies have been great, by the way. I switched to a new formula, Pro-Biolac, and they have not gotten diarrhea. Well, Esme had a little, but it was when I had to switch them back to KMR for a few days while waiting for the new formula to arrive in the mail. I am totally sticking with this new stuff – it keeps the diarrhea away.

All the activity has really made me insane. I was heating up the bottles for the babies one night, but I was also in a hurry to accomplish the million other tasks on my plate. I forgot that I washed the pan in which I heat the bottles earlier that day. More importantly, I forgot that I did not refill it with water before placing it back on the stove. When I put the bottles in the dry pan, they melted to the bottom just a little bit. Ugh. I ruined the bottle and the pan. You would think this could be solved by putting the bottles in the microwave, but doing so breaks down the milk proteins and leads to the dreaded diarrhea. The extra effort is worth the benefit.

melted-bottlebottle-rings-in-pot

Finally, I took Sprout, Lady and Carrot in to get vaccinated and to look for adopters on Sunday (I plan to go in all week and keep trying). It was a long day – really, a long week – best summed up in a picture:

exhausted

Leave a Reply

