Crisis in Crochet

I was working on my cat afghan, inspired by the idea of getting down to just 6 WIPs. Except for substituting the color of the cats in this afghan (the original pattern calls for blue cats), I left the pattern unmodified. For the first time in my life I checked gauge for an afghan (usually I don’t worry because, well, it’s a blanket -it’ll fit). What could possibly go wrong?

When I got here , I noticed that I was running low on the burgundy yarn. No, big deal, I’d get some more from my stash. I went to the box where I was storing this WIP and reached in.

“That’s odd,” I thought. There was no more of this yarn. I dumped the box out. Still no more. Oh, crap. Luckily, I had the original invoice from when I bought the yarn, so I knew where to look if I needed to buy more. I had a ball band with the dye lot. I looked on Ravelry to see if someone had it in their stash. Only one person did, but I didn’t notice if the dye lot was the same. Still, I had 2 possible sources.

Later that night as I worked, worry crept up on me. I could swear I had enough yarn. I thought I was going to have at least one skein too many early on in the process. As I watched the skein I was crocheting from disappear, the worry began to eat at me. I put the afghan down to search some more.

Nope, not in my notions basket.

Not in the dining room.

Not in the office.

I sat in front of the computer and thought, “I’d better place the order for this yarn so I don’t run out of ambition. What if this yarn is discontinued? What if the dye lot is hideously different?” In the end I decided I should wait till morning. I mean really, is there that much demand for a mass-produced acrylic yarn?

It grew later – 1:00, 2:00, 3:00 in the morning. I couldn’t fall asleep. I panicked more and more.

Then I had an idea. I grabbed the flashlight and tiptoed into the bedroom. I grabbed the handle on the yarn trunk by the door. It’s kind of sticky, and I didn’t want to wake Michael, so I yanked it quickly and hard. Michael sat up. “I thought someone was breaking into the bedroom,” he said. “Go back to sleep,” said I. “OK.”

As quietly as one can with plastic bags, I began removing other WIPs and pre-assembled project kits from the trunk. One by one (holy cow, do I really think I can make all of these?) they came to rest outside the trunk. When I got to the back, my hand felt something soft and familiar. All right! A skein of this brand of yarn – not necessarily the right color (I am making Blaine’s baby blanket out of the same type of yarn). I grabbed several skeins and tossed them into the hall. I quietly put away the rest of the projects. Then I went into the hall to see if I was in luck…

Whew! I had plenty of the burgundy yarn left. Crisis averted. I brought it into the living room and put it where I could find it again. Finally, I could sleep. Soon, I’ll be sleeping with the new afghan.

Speaking of accomplishing things, I spun the white roving for our plying lesson in spinning class. I’ll show you the finished products when I spin it all. That’s a story for next time, though.

I acquired 2 more kittens today. They are just about the same size, maybe a little bigger than Wisteria was when I got her. They are both on the bottle, about every 8 hours. I think they are 2 1/2 to 3 weeks old.

The black and white one is named Ling Ling. The lady who named Wisteria named this fellow as well. The calico girl is unnamed, however. Does anyone have a suggestion? Please leave it in the comments. There are just a few criteria:

  1. The name should be uncommon, but not too weird. Patches is out (although I love that name for a calico, all the calicos in the shelter are named Patches).
  2. The name has to be family friendly.
  3. The name should be suitable for a girl kitten (or at least gender neutral).

I’ll let you know whose suggestion we went with in a few days. It’s not a contest, and there is no prize except bragging rights. But naming kittens is fun, I swear.

5 thoughts on “Crisis in Crochet

  1. When I was a kid, we had a calico cat we named Tiki. Her mother was siamese and her father was some tom cat that got to the Siamese mother “by mistake” – hence the kittens were free. Tiki was a very spirited cat, even as an adult. We allowed her to have 3 litters before Mom and Dad had her spayed. I recommend “Tiki” for you new kitten.

  2. Foxy. If Ling Ling was named after the “Drawn Together” character, then Foxy is another character from that show. 🙂

    If you want a different, but related name, how about Panda? Ling Ling is the name of a giant panda at the Chengdu Giant Panda Reserve in China. Besides, isn’t Panda a cute name?

Leave a Reply

