How I’ve spent my days

I’m feeling pretty guilty right now. I have been meaning to update my blog for days. To be fair, I’ve been working on a huge project. Apparently I have technical writing skills, so I have been asked to write a manual for the new kitten fostering group. I wrote one last year for the other shelter I volunteered for at the time. The difference is that last year, when I finished all the writing, another volunteer just happened to have desktop publishing software and skills. The shelter I am with now doesn’t have a person like that, nor do they have money to pay someone to do it.

I got really lucky – I found desktop publishing software for $10.00. I had a great time playing around with it and Photoshop. I think I am going to use this picture for the cover:

Manual Picture

It looks a lot cooler when you click on it. I wanted something that looked good in color, but would also work in black and white if it had to. By the way, the picture is one of Serra’s baby pictures. I barely recognized it when I was done editing it.

So anyway, the manual now stands at 18 pages of pure text. I’m hoping to break it up with pictures and other exciting things. When it’s done, I’m thinking 25 – 30 pages including the appendix. Whew!

So, I promised to post pictures of the yarn I acquired in Florida. For some reason I am on a sock yarn kick, so I picked up 4 sock yarns.

FL yarn

The Berroco yarn will be socks for my friend Jen (from Florida). The yarn on the right – Supersocke 100 in Africa (but oddly enough, from Germany) will be socks for Lane (also from Florida). Neither of them knit now, but I suspect someday soon they’ll be knitters. I taught them both to crochet when we were all in college, and when I went back to see them last week they both had projects to show me. I’m proud of them!

I have no idea (well, maybe a little idea) who the yarn on the bottom is for. Right now, it is stash. The yarn on the left is in the same. I’m not even sure that it will be socks. I just love the way the purple color varies throughout the skein. Maybe that will be one I just look at. Or maybe it will make gloves. The possibilities are endless right now.

I’m not actually going to cast on either of the planned pairs of socks for a long time. I have to finish the ones I have on the needles now, and I would like to complete one more project before starting another. It’s going to be tough to resist the urge. On one hand, I now have 10 projects in progress. On the other, what harm is the 11th? I mean, when you’ve gone this far… But I do have to finish the kilt hose I am knitting for my classmate. <sigh>

Ah, but if I have yet another project to do, it’s going to seriously cut into my video game time (the one thing that proves I’m not old!). I’m not going to  have much of that as soon as those little kittens come in.

I am getting antsy for kittens. I saw some at the shelter when I had the meeting to edit the manual. There were about 10 of them around, and every one of them was so tiny and cute! The first kittens of the year always look smaller to me than the rest, largely because the cats I see all the time are, well, large.

Tomorrow I am going to be mostly working on our garden and playing board games with some of our friends. I know, I’m a nerd. I hope to get a little knitting in, but you never know what’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

