Back from Florida

Michael and I arrived home from Florida about mid-day on Sunday. This is noteworthy because we were supposed to arrive 12 or 14 hours earlier (I can no longer remember for sure). For the first time in recorded history (or so say the newscasters), tornadoes struck Atlanta, Georgia. “But wait,” you’re thinking “she was in Florida. What do tornadoes in Georgia have to do with the price of tea in China?” Well, I’ll tell you – everything, that’s what. Apparently more of those funnel-shaped trailer smashers were touching down near the Atlanta airport, where our connection was supposed to happen. Our flight from Florida was delayed for several hours, but the one from Atlanta to San Francisco was only delayed until 20 mintues before we landed. Somehow our luggage made the flight though. Michael mused, “Lesson learned – next time we hide in the luggage.”

Meanwhile, we went over our options with the gate attendant. She booked us confirmed seats on a flight to San José via Los Angeles, and standby tickets on a flight to San Francisco that was even more delayed than the one we were supposed to take. When we arrived in Atlanta we tried to get confirmed seats on the San Francisco flight, but it had such a long waiting list that we were guaranteed to be trapped. Our flight to Los Angeles left at something like 10:00pm, and we arrived there about 1:00am (remember there is a 3 hour time change). We had to wait in the airport until 9:15am for the flight to San José. That meant sleeping in shifts in order to keep watch over our stuff. I think we each had about 2-3 hours of sleep total. Thankfully, there were no more delays the next morning, and we arrived in San José on time. Carisa and her boyfriend, Ryan, picked us up and drove us home, but not before stopping for lunch and a trip to Pet Club.

The flight was supposed to take a total of 7 hours. Since we had to get to the airport from Inverness, FL (central FL), we were travelling for 25 hours, maybe 26. We had been up for about 36 hours. When we came home, we slept. I woke up at about 10:00 pm for food, then went back to sleep until about 5:30am. We actually made it to our 8:00 golf class this morning despite all of that.

The bright side to all of this is that I had plenty of time to knit. I finished the sock. You’ll notice that I ripped the entire thing back and reconfigured the toe. Or maybe you won’t. The point is, the toe was too square for me and then I made some huge mistakes in the overall sock pattern, so I figured it was a good time to frog it. The bind off was too tight (it always is) so I will rip it out and redo, but not now.

One sock

Florida itself was nice. We saw many friends we hadn’t seen since we left 4 years ago. One of them was dying of lymphoma, but we didn’t know until a few months ago. He hasn’t much time left. We ate at some restaurants that don’t exist out here. We played board games with our friends. We went to Disney for a day. I also visited with my friends’ pets. The total number of animals we hung out with comes to 4 dogs, 5 cats and a rabbit. The first picture is of my friends Lane, Zach, Jen and Lee (Lane’s mom) with Michael and me posing with Mike Wazowski from Monsters, Inc. The next one is me holding the rabbit. His name is Xiao Bai Tu, which means “little white bunny” in Chinese.

All of us with Mike WazowskiXiao Bei Tu

– Side note – if you don’t know me personally, you would probably surmise from reading my blog that I am about 70. I mean, I have a regular bridge game, I knit, I raise tons of animals, I gripe about “kids these days” and I take fistfulls of pills everyday for all my endocrine and digestive disorders. Well, here’s the picture of me. I’m nowhere near 70. I’m not even 30. I’m just practicing to be an old codger. How am I doing?

There was one quest that I was unable to complete. I have a friend in San Francisco whose boyfriend just loves Munchkins (from Dunkin Donuts, another chain that is nowhere near us). When I go back east, I try to get a big box for them. I was able to get a few, but not the big box, when I went to Boston. When we went to Pittsburgh, I was too sick to try. But this time, this time, I had it all worked out. We allowed plenty of time to stop in Dunnellon and go to Dunkin Donuts before we went home. I went in to the store, and ordered the big box. This was around noonish. The clerk says “We don’t have any Munchkins.” (Reminds me of Weird Al’s Albuquerque….). How can you be out of Munchkins at noon on a Saturday? *&^$

For now, I am alive and well. I will post pictures of the yarn I purchased in my next post. In the meantime, check me out – I knit everywhere – at the beach, in line for theme park rides…

Knit on beachKnit in line

One thought on “Back from Florida

  1. That’s really cool that you finally have some pictures of yourself knitting. That’s what knitters do, but seldom is it in pictures.

Leave a Reply

