The Works in Progress (WIPs)

I’ve mentioned previously that I am not on one-project sort of girl. This morning I set about photographing all of my WIPs, but I have this nagging feeling I am forgetting some. Here they are (in no particular order):

1. Alexis’s plaid blanket This is a plaid blanket I am making for my niece, Alexis (a birthday present). I have the supplies to make a blanket for her new brother, too, but I already have a different birthday gift for him, buying me time until Christmas. It was made with filet crochet, and now I am weaving in yarn for the plaid look.

2. Blaze Sweater in Angora This is the beginning of a sweater I am making from a pattern on called Blaze.  The yarn is an angora blend (I think with silk) that I got on clearance! I just started it a few days ago.

3. Kilt Hose This little guy is one of a pair of kilt hose. I belong to a Scottish Country Dancing group that dresses in full Scottish regalia. I’ve managed to become a somewhat professional knitter after I knit a pair of kilt hose for my husband. People saw them and admired them, and before I knew it they were asking me to knit kilt hose for them, too – and they were willing to pay for them! The first pair I was paid for were a birthday present for which I designed a fish stitch. This pair is going to be simple with reinforced heels and toes and a custom fit for the person who ordered them.

4. Tunisian Crochet Cat Bed This is the beginning of a cat bed I am making using Tunisian Crochet. A local shelter sells these beds made by volunteers to make a profit for taking care of the cats.

5. Romantic Cardigan This is the begining of the Romantic Cardigan from Lion Brand’s Vintage Styles for Today.

6. Washcloth This is a cotton dishcloth. I make these for my own use, and occasionally give them as gifts. They are much better than regular store bought ones. One of my older handmade dishcloths took a ride through the garbage disposal and came out in one piece. Talk about durable!

7. Lamb Pillow This is the beginning of a lamb pillow from a pattern at Lion Brand’s website. You have to sign up to see it, but it is free and I’ve decided that it’s worth it. I only get monthly emails from them, and they usually contain cool patterns.

8. Carisa’s Blanket Finally, this is what I have of an afghan I am making for my friend, Carisa. It’s a study in color, except for pink. Carisa hates pink. I knew this project could take me years when I started it. So far it’s been at least 1 and 1/2 years – maybe more. Many people put things like this in the UFO (Unfinished Objects) category, but I don’t do that because I really do finish the projects. I usually know pretty quickly if I dislike a project enough not to finish, and I frog it – rip it (say it 3 times fast), for the non-knitters.

Edit: I knew I was forgetting something!

9. Cat Afghan This is a cat afghan pattern I got from Mary Maxim. I’m not sure if it’s still available since I got it something like last spring.

3 thoughts on “The Works in Progress (WIPs)

  1. The angora sweater looks like it will be so luxious and is a great color. Do you have a recipient in mind or is it finally something for yourself again?

  2. This one is for me. Actually, so is the Romantic Cardigan. The thing is, in general, I like giving away my yarn craft because people ask me, “Did you really make that? That is so cool!” It gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside.

  3. Hi there!

    We don’t know each other, but I am a fellow kitten/crocheting/knitting enthusiast. I remembered seeing the pattern for the cat afghan pattern (#9) in a Mary Maxim catalog last year, and I’ve been scouring the web trying to find a similar pattern to make for my brother and my husband (both are also cat-lovers). Apparently that particular pattern really isn’t available anymore, and I haven’t been able to turn up anything comparable.

    Seeing as I’m a big fan of that warm, fuzzy feeling myself, I’d really like to get hold of that pattern. 🙂 Is there any chance you still have the pattern and could scan and email it to me or mail it to me? I’d be willing to pay a reasonable price for it and for your troubles. Either way, happy knitting (and “kittening”)! =^.^=

    -Clarissa
    Email: randomgenotype ‘at’ yahoo ‘dot’ com
    Atlanta, GA

Leave a Reply

