Introduction

I guess I should start by introducing myself. My name is Barbara, and I’ve been fostering kittens for a local shelter for 2 and 1/2 years. Exactly 100 kittens and mother cats come through my house so far. I absolutely adore tiny kittens. The smallest ones I’ve had were only 1 day old when I got them. I take any type of kitten the shelter offers: sick kittens, undersocialized kittens, and perfectly healthy but underaged kittens. Since I am lucky enough to have a husband who can support our family comfortably, I dedicate myself to fostering as a career choice.

I also have a non-kitten hobby – knitting! While I often knit beds and toys for the kittens, I tend to always have knitted (or crocheted) projects for people on the needles as well. I’m not mongamous to any project. Sometimes I work from patterns, but most of the time I prefer to design my own projects. Many times they fail, but just as often I’ll make something I am exceptionally proud of. My mother taught me to crochet when I was 4 years old. It wasn’t long after that I received a “Barbie Knitting Kit” for Christmas. I’ve been doing yarn work ever since. I’ve never been afraid to try something new, pattern-wise or yarn-wise.

While the previous two subjects will be the focus of this blog, I have other things I will talk about from time to time. I have 3 adult cats of my own (Buttercup, Wesley, and Serra). They will probably be the “off-topic” subject I bring up the most. They’ll probably even get their own intro post soon. I am always looking for gluten-free alternatives to my favorite gluten products. Oh, and we are currently house-hunting, so I may bring that up as well.

That’s all for today. I’ll post some pictures of my cats and current yarn projects soon.

Leave a Reply

